Hindustan Times Jul 17, 2017 06:21 am
Emilia Clarke appears in a scene from Game of Thrones, as the menacing, white-haired Daenerys Targaryen, aka Khaleesi, aka Mother of Dragons.
Emilia Clarke appears in a scene from Game of Thrones, as the menacing, white-haired Daenerys Targaryen, aka Khaleesi, aka Mother of Dragons.(AP)

Game of Thrones’ seventh season debuted with an impressive opener on Monday. Dragonstone, the first episode of the hit HBO show’s penultimate season, was everything the fans wanted. The Hindustan Times’ review called it ‘near perfect’. But the show has always been slightly notorious for having several - some would say, too many - central characters. And the intricate details of their individual stories can become difficult to follow - especially after a year-long gap between seasons.

So here’s a quick lowdown of everything that has happened so far on the show’s six seasons.

Season 1

Lord Eddard Stark embarks on a mission to solve the mystery of who killed a high-ranking officer in King Robert Baratheon’s cabinet, while trying to protect his family from their rivals, the Lannisters. Across the sea, a parallel story that features the Targaryens reveals Daenerys as a contender for the coveted Iron Throne.

Season 2

The sudden death of Ned Stark sends ripples down Westeros, with all five kings fighting to win the Iron Throne. Ned’s son, Robb, seeks revenge for the death of his father, while his family is separated.

Season 3

Betrayed, the Starks find themselves losing the war, separated from each other. Meanwhile, the Lannisters have their own internal politics to worry about. Jon Snow, Ned’s bastard son, slowly comes to realise the power of his father’s legacy, and Daenerys continues her quest to rule the seven kingdoms.

Season 4

Following the shocking death of Robb Stark, Jon Snow takes on the responsibility of preserving his family’s name. As his siblings continue to find their way to each other, he prepares for a battle against the free folk. Daenerys continues to occupy more lands, as her quest surges ahead.

Season 5

Daenerys suffers a revolt, and must rely on her power to suppress it. Jon Snow makes an alliance to further protect the North from the Lannisters’ attacks.

Season 6

Jon Snow is proclaimed King in the North, after leading them into battle. Meanwhile, the Lannisters’ outcast son, Tyrion, joins forces with Daenerys, who seems to be buckling under the pressure of her immense power.

You can watch a helpful, 5-minute recap video that covers the major events of the previous six seasons here

Read the review of the season 7 opener, Dragonstone, here

Follow @htshowbiz for more

Read Full Story on www.hindustantimes.com »
Sign In or Sign Up to join discussion.